I Seek You, shortly called ICQ, is a messaging program that helps you communicate. You can add friends, upload pictures, transfer or receive files, send and receive text or voice messages, and live chat with friends. Deleting an account in today’s time is like something of a minefield. Much personal information has been exposed online. If you are not using your account then, it’s better to delete it. This article will guide you to delete an ICQ account.
What happens when you delete your ICQ account?
As soon as you delete your ICQ account, all the data associated with your account including all your conversations will be deleted forever. And remember once you delete your account, it is deleted permanently and cannot be reactivated again. Account reactivation is possible only if your account is deactivated and not deleted.
How to delete my ICQ account?
If you’ve decided to close your ICQ account, then read the following methods. You can delete your account in two ways:
- Delete account by email
- Delete an account through the website
You can delete your account by sending an email to the respective company and requesting them to remove your account from their database.
- Open your email that is registered with the website or application.
- Enter the email address [email protected] on the recipient’s address.
- On the subject, type “Request to delete my account.”
- Now compose an email requesting them to delete your ICQ account from their database, and send it.
Through the website
Instead of mailing the respective company to cancel your account, you can do it on your own through the ICQ website. Follow these mentioned steps to delete your account:
- Go to web.icq.com and sign in to your account.
- Click on the ⚙️ (settings) icon at the bottom right corner.
- On the left pane, select Privacy.
- Click on the Delete my account link at the bottom of the page.
- A prompt will appear, click on Send SMS.
- Type in the received verification code and click on Delete.
An alternative method to close your ICQ account
You can also close your ICQ account by following the steps below:
- Go to the ICQ Account Closure page.
- Log in to your account.
- Enter your password and click on REMOVE ACCOUNT.
All your personal information is removed after deleting your account permanently. So, by following the above methods, you can successfully delete your account.