With the rise of instant messaging apps like Whatsapp and Facebook messenger, maybe the time has come to farewell Kik. If you don’t want to use Kik anymore, you might want to delete your account along the way and leave no traces behind. Closing a Kik account is relatively easy and doesn’t take much time. However, there’s also the option to deactivate your account if you just want to take a break from Kik. Here we will guide you through the steps to close your account or temporarily disable it.
How to permanently delete your Kik account
- Visit the Kik Account Deletion page.
- Enter your username and password.
- Select a reason for closing your account.
- Click on the checkbox and click Go!. Now, Kik will send you a confirmation email for your account closure.
- Open the confirmation email sent from Kik and click Permanently Deactivate.
What happens when you close your Kik account
- You cannot access your account.
- Your profile will get removed on the contacts list of the people you’ve had conversations with.
- Your username will no longer be searchable on Kik.
- You won’t receive any messages on Kik or emails from Kik.
How to temporarily deactivate your Kik account
- Visit the Kik temporary account deactivation page.
- Type in your email address and click Go!. You’ll receive a confirmation email from Kik for disabling your account.
- Open the confirmation email sent from Kik and click Deactivate.
- Select a reason for disabling your account and click Go! at the bottom.
Note: You can reactivate your account at any time by logging back in.
What happens when you deactivate your account
- You won’t receive any messages on Kik and emails from Kik.
- Your Kik username will be unsearchable.
- You will be removed from the contact lists of the people you’ve had conversations with.