How to Delete the Freshdesk Account?

By Carina | Updated On July 15, 2022 

Do you wish to get rid of the Freshdesk account? No worries, this article will guide you to delete the Freshdesk account. Here, we’ll discuss Freshdesk and how to cancel your account. Please remember to read this article till the end.

Freshdesk is online cloud-based customer support software that offers help desk support with all smart automation to get things done faster. It is one of the popular choices for businesses that want to increase customer engagement and manage customers as they scale. Freshdesk supports features like an omnichannel help desk, team collaboration, AI and chatbots, multi-channel communication management, self-service support portal for support agents and customers. The chat support integrates Freshdesk with Freshchat where you can convert conversations into tickets. The AI-powered chatbots will help to guide customers in solving their questions easily. Moreover, some other features of Freshdesk are productivity hacks, help desk management, reporting, providing SSL certification and DKIM configuration, supporting Service Level Agreements (SLA), and integrating Freshdesk with Freshrelease, and Freshsale, etc.

Perhaps, you may want to delete your Freshdesk account after some time. You may have various reasons such as if you want to try out another customer support software like Zendesk if you want to take a break, or if you simply don’t want to use Freshdesk anymore, and so on. No matter what your reasons are, we’re here to help you. So, please keep reading to know more regarding the Freshdesk account.

delete the Freshdesk account
Freshdesk

What happens when you delete your Freshdesk account?

When you delete or cancel your Freshdesk account, your account will be suspended within 24 hours after deletion. You won’t have access to the Freshdesk account and its features anymore. Your customers and agents will lose contact with your support portal. Likewise, your account and associated data will be removed permanently after 14 days (2 weeks). So, if you decide to go back to Freshdesk you can quickly sign in to your account within 14 days.

How to delete the Freshdesk account?

If you want to close your Freshdesk account, then you can simply cancel your account. Here, canceling your account is the same as deleting or deactivating an account. Further, you should consider exporting your account data before canceling the Freshdesk account. For this, you should go to your account and tap on Admin > Account > Account Details > Export data. You can export entire data in your account like your tickets, solutions, forums, and the list of customers.

In case you find any problem or need any type of help, you can freely contact the Freshdesk support team at [email protected]. The Freshdesk support team is always available to assist you with any issues that you are facing and solve them.

Remember that only the account admin can cancel the account with this method. You can follow the step-step process if you’ve decided to cancel your Freshdesk account.

  1. Visit Freshdesk and log in to your account.
  2. You’ll land into your Freshdesk account. Then, click on the gear icon (Admin) from the left navigational panel to open the admin settings.
  3. Select Account from the page.
  4. Tap on Account Details.
  5. Now under Account status, click on the Cancel Account button.
  6. You can share your reason and give feedback on your account cancellation.
  7. Next, click on the Request Cancellation button. Confirm the action on the following pop-up.

Can I restore the Freshdesk account?

Yes, you can reactivate your Freshdesk account after cancellation. However, Freshdesk does not allow direct reactivation from a website, so you have to write an email concerning your issue. You can email them at [email protected] and make sure you decide within 14 days of deletion. After 14 days Freshdesk won’t be able to help you to reactivate your account as all your account details and necessary information will be erased permanently.

How to downgrade Freshdesk subscription?

Freshdesk offers both free (Sprout) and paid subscription plans. If you have taken paid subscription, downgrade it before deleting your account. After downgrading, your account will move on to the free plan, i.e., sprout with limited features.

To downgrade your subscription plan:

  1. Go to your Freshdesk account.
  2. Navigate to the Admin section by clicking on the gear icon from the left navigational panel.
  3. Tap on Account and select Plans and billing.
  4. You’ll see a list of subscription plans. Click on the Select Plan button under Sprout and confirm your action.

Note: Now, the price will be updated showing $0 and stating that you are on a free plan. The free plan provides only 10 agents, but if you wish to add more agents (full-time or occasional agents), you will need to provide your credit card details by clicking on ‘enter’ payment details to add more agents or to upgrade your current plan. After entering your details, click on Change plan to choose the number of agents you want to have.

Frequently asked questions (FAQs) about Freshdesk

Does Freshdesk offer a free account?

Yes, Freshdesk offers a free plan called ‘Sprout’ which is forever free. However, it comes with limited features and functionalities.

How much does a Freshdesk subscription cost?

Freshdesk offers three subscription paid plans (Growth, Pro, and Enterprise), starting from $15 per month. You can subscribe to Growth at $15 if billed annually ($18 if billed monthly), Pro plan at $49 if billed annually ($59 if billed monthly), and Enterprise plan at $79 if billed annually ($95 if billed annually).

Does Freshdesk have a free trial?

Freshdesk provides a 21-day free trial. You can switch between any plan in those 21 days. However, once it has been downgraded to the Sprout plan, you can use it for free for unlimited agents. And if you would like to move to the paid version, you can visit [email protected] and change the plan immediately.

Can I change my trial to a free plan?

Yes, you can change your trial account to a free plan. For this, go to Admin > Account > Plans and billings > change the plan to Free.

How many agents/users are allowed in the Sprout plan?

Sprout is a free Freshdesk plan that allows 10 agents. But if you want to add more agents like full-tine or occasional agents, you will have to upgrade your subscription plan.

How to transfer account admin access from one agent to another?

Only an Account Admin has full control over helpdesk agents. To transfer the admin account access to another agent, navigate to Admin > Team > Agents and click on Edit right next to the agent to whom you want to give account admin access. Now, edit the role of the agent to give the account administrator role.

Therefore, follow the above method to cancel or delete your Freshdesk account through the website. Also, see the process to downgrade your subscription plan, and consider what will happen if you cancel your account. Hope this article was helpful to you till the end.

Leave a Comment