How to Permanently Delete Tumblr Account?

By Sudan | Updated On July 6, 2022 

Tumblr is one of the most popular microblogging and social networking service, but it’s not the one for everyone’s liking. If you don’t find Tumblr useful and don’t want to use it anymore, you might want to delete your account along the way. Closing your Tumblr account is permanent, and you cannot delete your Tumblr account through the app. 

How To Delete An Instagram Account ...
How To Delete An Instagram Account Permanently in 2022

Delete Tumblr Account

How to permanently delete your Tumblr account?

  1. Visit tumblr.com and sign in to your account.
    Sign in to Tumblr
  2. Click on the account icon at the top right corner.
    Click Account icon
  3. Choose Settings in the dropdown menu.
    Select Settings
  4. Scroll down to the bottom and click Delete account.
    Click Delete Account
  5. Enter your email and password and click Delete everything.
    Confirm Account Deletion

What happens when you permanently delete your Tumblr account?

Once you close your Tumblr account, all your data will be erased from Tumblr’s server, including your username, themes, messages, likes, and all posts. 

How to delete a blog on Tumblr?

You can only delete your secondary blogs on Tumblr. If you want to delete your primary blog you have to delete your account as shown above. Here’s how to clear your secondary blog. 

On a Web-browser:

  1. Visit tumblr.com and log in to your account.
    Sign in to Tumblr
  2. Click on the account icon at the top right corner.
    Click Account icon
  3. Select Settings from the dropdown menu.
    Select Settings
  4. Under Blogs, open the secondary blog you want to remove.
    Select a secondary blog
  5. Scroll down to the bottom and click the Delete blog name button.
    Click on the Delete Blog
  6. Enter your email and password and click Delete blog name to confirm.
    Confirm Blog Deletion

On the Tumblr App:

  1. Tap on the Account icon at the bottom right corner of your screen.
    Tap on the Account icon
  2. Tap on your primary blog name at the top left corner.
    Tap on Primary Blog Name
  3. Select the secondary blog you want to delete.
    Select a secondary blog
  4. Tap on the ⚙️ icon at the top right corner.
    Click on Settings
  5. Choose Delete this Tumblr.
    Choose Delete This Tumblr
  6. Type in your password and tap Delete to confirm.
    Enter password to confirm

How to cancel a Tumblr subscription?

You should cancel your Post+ subscription prior to account deletion. Your subscription will remain active until the end of your current billing period. You can cancel through the website, android, and iOS app.

From Website

  1. Open your Tumblr account.
  2. Then, tap on your Account icon or visit here.
  3. Head to your Post+ subscriptions settings.
  4. Click the three dots (●●●) next to the creator you need to unsubscribe from.
  5. Now, click on Cancel subscription from the pop-up menu. 
  6. A confirmation message will appear. Tap on Cancel subscription to proceed.

From Android app

  1. Open your Tumblr app.
  2. Tap on the Account icon.
  3. Then click the gear wheel icon or the Settings in the top right corner of the screen.
  4. Next, tap on Account settings.
  5. Click on Post+ Subscriptions.
  6. Tap on the subscription you want to cancel, then Cancel Post+ Subscription under TumblrSubscriptions. 
  7. You can also cancel your subscriptions in Google Play by following the instructions here.

From iOS

You can cancel your subscription from your device settings instead from the Tumblr app on iOS devices.

  1. Open the Settings on your device.
  2. Tap on your name.
  3. Select the Subscriptions.
  4. Tap the subscription you want to cancel.
  5. Click on Cancel Subscription.

Save

Save

Save

4 thoughts on “How to Permanently Delete Tumblr Account?”

  1. Do you even read the comments?? I can’t delete my account,it says “nothing to see here.” and it redirects me to the dashboard!

    Reply
  2. Have spent 20 minutes trying to delete tumblr account only to be redirected to a page that says “nothing to see here.” The account isn’t deleted and I’m never taken to the “are you sure” page.

    Reply

Leave a Comment