How to Delete your GroupMe Account?

By nawa | Updated On July 5, 2022 

GroupMe is a convenient way to have group chats with the feature of sending/receiving money with friends. However, if you don’t want to use GroupMe anymore, we’ve got your back. Here’s how to delete your GroupMe account.

How To Delete Telegram Account 2022...
How To Delete Telegram Account 2022 [ Easy Tutorial ] | Online Help Guide | Telegram Guide

What happens when you close your GroupMe account?

As soon as you delete your account, all content associated with the account will be removed from your device. You will not be able to log back in with this account. So, make sure if you really want to close your GroupMe account.

Note: If you own any group, you’ll have to close or transfer the ownership. 

How do I close my GroupMe account?

  1. Visit groupme.com and sign in to your account.
    Visit groupme website
  2. Click on the profile icon on the left.
    Click on Profile
  3. Scroll down and click on Delete GroupMe Account.
    Click on Delete GroupMe account
  4. A popup will appear, select Continue.
    Confirm Account Deletion
  5. Type in your password and click Continue.
    Enter password

How to cancel your GroupMe account on iPhone or iPad?

  1. Open the GroupMe app. 
  2. Tap on the icon at the top left corner of your screen. 
  3. Tap on your profile picture. 
  4. Scroll down and select Delete GroupMe Account. 
  5. Tap on Continue
  6. Enter your password and tap Continue to finish. 

How to close your GroupMe account on Android?

  1. Tap the More menu.
  2. Tap the Edit profile button and tap Edit.
  3. Then, select the Delete GroupMe Account link.
  4. Select Delete and you will be logged out of GroupMe, and your account is marked for deletion.

How to close your GroupMe account on Windows?

  1. Select your avatar or profile picture to open your profile.
  2. Then select the pencil icon to edit your profile.
  3. Select the Delete GroupMe Account link.
  4. A final confirmation screen appears. Then, select Delete.
  5. Now, you are logged out of GroupMe, and your account is marked for deletion.

Note: If you change your mind and want to restore your account, you have 48 hours to reactivate it. Click the link in the confirmation email or SMS we sent you, or simply log back into GroupMe to cancel the account deletion. If 48 hours are passed, your account will be permanently closed and you can not get it back.

How to delete GroupMe messages?

If you like to delete your messages or chats on GroupMe before deleting your account, follow the steps given below. Remember that you can only delete chats that you’ve sent before 60 minutes, after that you won’t be able to remove chats.

  1. Tap on the chat you want to delete the message from.
  2. Then, find the message you want to delete.
  3. Tap and hold the message or click the three dots next to the message.
  4. Select Delete, then click on Delete again for confirmation.
  5. The message will be removed for everyone and a notification will show in the chat that the message was deleted.

In case you want to only hide a message:

  1. Select the chat you want to edit.
  2. Find the message you want to hide.
  3. Then tap and hold or right-click that message.
  4. Select Hide or Hide Message.

RELATED: Delete Instagram Account

 

Leave a Comment