Goodreads is one of the largest social networks for book lovers, where they can share books they love with reviews. However, if you don’t want to be on Goodreads anymore, you can delete your Goodreads account quickly from both the mobile app and desktop website. Here’s how.
What happens when you delete your Goodreads account?
Remember that after you close your account, it will only remove your personal (member) account data, books you’ve rated and reviewed, your friends, and account information. However, deleting your account will not remove your author profile or the records and reviews for the books that you have authored.
Deleting your account is as simple as creating it. Once done, your account will be deleted permanently. There are two ways to delete your Goodreads account:
- Delete your account from the application.
- Delete your account from the website.
How do I delete my Goodreads account from the app?
- Launch the Goodreads app on your phone.
- Tap More at the bottom right corner.
- A popup menu will appear, choose Settings.
- Tap on Settings at the top of the page.
- Now, choose Account.
- Tap on the Delete my account option at the bottom.
- Tap on Delete my account.
- Confirm by tapping Yes, delete my account.
How to close your Goodreads account from the website?
- Go to goodreads.com and log in to your account.
- Click on your profile at the top right corner.
- Choose Account Settings from the menu.
- Click on the Delete my account option below your profile picture.
- Now, click on the Delete My Account button.
- A popup will appear, click OK to confirm.
Therefore, we hope you were successful in closing your Goodreads account permanently. Goodreads doesn’t store that data, so you cannot restore it again. You can restore it if you kept a backup by downloading your data to a spreadsheet. Goodreads doesn’t store that data, so they cannot restore your account.